Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Book: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan
Publisher: Harper Teen
Date Published: January 28th, 2014
Source: Library
Date Started: March 18th, 2014
Date Finished: March 25th, 2014
Amazon|Goodreads

 

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 

Hey lovelies! So I finally have a review up for you! I’ve been so sick with a damn cold that turned into bronchitis. I was miserable in bed, couldn’t go to work, and went to the doctor. I thought it’d be a great time to catch up on reading, but I found that I couldn’t focus on a page. I tried to read a little bit here and there. I’m finally starting to feel better, (even though my lungs don’t agree) and so I was able to finally finish Uninvited.
Anyways, lets get to the review, shall we? So, I’m guilty once again for picking a book based on its cover. There is DNA in her hair. Its beautiful. But once I read the description of the book, I was hooked in. The book is about a girl named Davy who is a musical prodigy, has been accepted into Juliard, comes from a high bred family, has riches, the perfect boyfriend, and great friends. However, one day, she discovers that she is a carrier for the kill gene. The gene that says you are violent at heart and will one day kill someone. After she finds out, her life completely changes. She’s forced to go to a new school, her friends and boyfriend abandon her, Juliard revokes their admission, her parents are at a loss and ignore the situation for the most part, and she is treated like a criminal, even though she has done nothing. When she starts her new school, she meets Sean, who in looks, fits the part of a violent criminal carrying the kill gene. But the question remains, is she fated to someday kill someone? or can she prove that her genes don’t define her?

So after reading this description, I was hooked. I have a huge interest in anthropology and studying the way that our genes, evolution, and environments affect our species. I was also drawn to this story because my state has a tendency for school shootings. I’ve been hearing about school shootings since I was 10 years old, had to practice for school shooting emergencies, and its just all over the news. Many people have been questioning whether there really is a kill gene, does it determine our fates? Is it our environments? A combination of all factors? And I definitely think this book explores those issues. You would never think that Davy was a criminal. But after being called one and treated like one for so long, you begin to wonder and start to believe that you are violent at your core. There are some tough issues in this book, and I think Jordan did a very good job of balancing them all.

And the characters. The way that Jordan sets up the book, you learn to sympathize with some of the people who are carriers for the kill gene. And I mean only some. There were some characters who were truly cruel at their core. You wouldn’t think twice about whether they were really carriers or not. As for Davy and Sean, and a few others, you wouldn’t think they were. But society treated them like they were already criminals. They were just waiting for that moment when they made their move. When Davy finds out she’s a carrier, her whole world is turned upside down, and she goes through this dramatic development. She wants to prove to society that she is not violent. But after being put into certain situations, she begins to wonder if she really is capable of murdering someone. But I think some people share the view, that when put in the right situation, anyone is capable of murder. Take Sean for example. He was willing to defend Davy, no matter what. But all his actions were done in defense. Speaking of Davy and Sean’s relationship. It was really intense. In that “I want you but I can’t have you” kind of way. It took so long before anything really happened in their relationship. They kept toying with each other, but I think thats because there were so many eyes on them, watching all the time. One wrong move, and they would lose everything.

There is a sequel for this book, (thank god). When I was reading the book, I felt that it was a little bit slow. But as I got more towards the end, I figured that there had to be a sequel to this book. From what I gather, the book is called Unleashed, at least according to goodreads. Since Uninvited just came out two months ago, I wouldn’t expect the sequel to come out until next year.

Happy reading!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge