Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of fire by Sarah J. MaasBook: Heir Of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #3
Pages: 565
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Date Published: September 2nd, 2014
Source: Library
Date Started: September 19th, 2014
Date Finished: September 24th, 2014
Other Books Reviewed: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, The Assassin’s Blade, A Court of Thorns and Roses


She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight.


*This book is a sequel, and thus has spoilers. I urge you to go read the books mentioned above or at least check out my reviews of them before continuing on. Otherwise, read on my friends.

At the end of Crown of Midnight, Chaol had sent Celaena away in order to protect her, but what he doesn’t realize is that he might have just sent her into the arms of her darkest fears. Celaena has been broken since the death of her friend, and Celaena needs to work through her demons in order to realize her fate. In this book, sides are chosen, and Celaena needs to make a choice on who she wants to be.

This book was significantly different from the previous two novels and the novellas, for many reasons. This book doesn’t focus solely on Celaena, but on other characters in different parts of the world. We start with Celaena traveling to Wendlyn and starts training to control the power within her. We also follows Prince Dorian and Chaol as things start to unfold at the castle. We’re also introduced to a new character named Manon, who is a witch and is training to fight in the king’s secret dark army. While I enjoyed reading the stories of some of the familiar characters, I was unsure about Manon. I liked her story, training for the king’s dark army. But I felt like her story was just build up for the next book. You can definitely feel that things are building up for this great show down between all the forces of Erilea, Wendlyn, and all the players of the game. I wanted to know why the king was truly building this army, and what the true size of his army is. But alas, we have to wait until the next book.

There was a lot of development in terms of Celaena’s character. Its almost like she’s becoming a brand new character. In the book, we come to understand who Celaena truly is and what happened to her when her parents died. We also learn her personal reasons for becoming an assassin. But Celaena is becoming more than assassin. I had always thought that she would help the events along by doing things in the shadows like she always had. I had never thought she would actually become someone who called the shots, who could become her own master. She’s always had to play servant to someone, whether it be the King of Adarlan or Arrobyn, but its definitely a nice change.

My only real complaint with this book was the fact that I was confused on the romance front. We’re introduced to a new character Rowan, but I never quite figured out who he was to Celaena. Was he like a brother? Did they have feelings for each other? Or is he just someone that will fight by her side? Its quite confusing, but then again, Throne of Glass was confusing on that front as well. Those questions were answered in Crown of Midnight, but everything changed. So maybe things will be answered in the next book in the series.

Things are starting to change in the world of Erilea and beyond, and I can only feel like something is about to give before all of hell is about to let less. I urge you to pick up Heir of Fire after reading the rest of the books in the Throne of Glass series. Join in on the action, you wont be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge