A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Book: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Pages: 419
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Date Published: May 5th, 2015
Source: Owned
Date Started: May 12th, 2015
Date Finished: May 17th, 2015
Amazon|Goodreads
Other Books Reviewed: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, The Assassin’s Blade

 

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

I don’t know what to say about this book. Its left me floored. I’ve got a book hangover, and I’m loving it. This book was my most anticipated read of 2015. I tried to exhaust every avenue that I could so that I could get my hands on a copy and ended up preordering it. I checked the mail everyday while it was in the mail, hoping that it would come early. I couldn’t read it fast enough.

I’ll admit, I was afraid of reading this book. I absolutely loved the Throne of Glass, especially Heir of Fire. I didn’t want to have such high expectations for this book because of Throne of Glass. But I couldn’t help it. I did. I’m relieved to say that this book blew my expectations out of the water.

I don’t know where to begin on the story, its still swirling in my head! So as you may know or don’t know, this story is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I thought it was done beautifully. The world that Feyre and Tamlin live in is a very rough world where humans are poor and fight for survival while the Fae are dealing with a blight that limits their magic. Not to mention the two species are enemies to one another. There was such great world building in this book, but it all felt natural. I felt like I was able to just slip into their world like it was the same world that I live in now.

The characters were complicated. I wasn’t exactly in love with all the men or found complete strength in the women. What I did appreciate was Feyre and her taking the lead to keep her family alive even though she was the youngest and her father was alive. I loved the way that Feyre was portrayed. She is illiterate and she gets made fun of for it. She also isn’t that good at fighting. I loved this because she wasn’t perfect, she wasn’t this skilled assassin who was deadly. She had her flaws and I appreciated her struggle much more because she had these things stacked against her as well. It made her struggle real. I also admired her oldest sister, Nesta. She was cruel in the beginning and I thought her to be spoiled because of their former wealth. But she grew on me, and I understood her cruelty. Tamlin, on the other hand, I liked him best with Lucien in close second. I appreciated everything that Tamlin did, and he never seemed to do things in a selfish manner. Lucien was selfish, but he has a dark past and I think he can be afforded with it. But one person I do not like is Rhysand. Everyone seems to be in love with him and did this grand gesture. I don’t like him. He had his motives for chasing Feyre, even if they were for a bigger fight, but the fact that he expected something out of Feyre really annoyed me. Hes dangerous, he played with Feyre like she was a toy, and demanded payment from her even though he claimed better ulterior motives. I’m calling bull on that one.

Also, side note about the maturity. I was under the impression that this was more of a young adult book, but Its more adult or new adult to me. Its got some steamy scenes in which details aren’t really spared! This was a surprise to me because I was expecting the same maturity content as Throne of Glass

I really feel like I’m writing this review for people who love this book. I’ve seen lots of people devour and love this book with a few black sheep here and there. Throne of Glass is still my favorite series from Sarah J. Maas, but she hasn’t left me disappointed in any way. Her writing is gold to me and I will read anything she writes. I devoured this one and I’m so happy it has a place on my shelf. If you’ve read Throne of Glass, I’m sure this one is on your radar as well. If you haven’t read any Sarah J. Maas books, well what are you waiting for?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge